03 JUNE - 08 JULY






With thanks to our major supporters, the State Government of Victoria, Craft is thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s Victorian Craft Awards. Presented biennially, these awards celebrate excellence in contemporary craft and design practice across Victoria. 

The Winner of the Lynne Kosky Jewellery Award ($10,000) is KIRSTEN HAYDON
Honouring the legacy of Victorian Government Minister and longstanding patron and advocate of the arts, Lynne Kosky 

Supported by Creative Victoria 

The Winner of the Jewellery Encouragement Award ($2,000) is MICHAELA PEGUM

Supported by the Family of Lynne Kosky

The Winner of the Ceramic Award $5,000 is KATHERINE WHEELER

Supported by a generous Craft Victoria donor

The Winner of the Excellence Award ($5,000) is CLAIRE MCARDLE

Supported by the Bowness Family Foundation

The Winner of the Chair’s Award for Innovation ($1,000) is ANNA DAVERN

Supported by Lousje Skala, Chair of the Board at Craft Victoria

The Winner of the Chair’s Award for Innovation – Emerging ($500) is SAI-WAI FOO

Supported by Lousje Skala, Chair of the Board at Craft Victoria

Voting is now open for the People’s Choice Award ($700)

Supported by Craft Victoria

Visitors to the exhibition are encouraged to enter the Victorian Craft Awards 2017 People's Choice Award. Entrants can vote by completing an entry form using the paper ballots provided in the exhibition space at either of the following venues; Craft Victoria (31 Flinders Lane) or Collins Place Gallery.

The winner will be drawn and announced Wednesday 18 July via www.craft.org.au/victoriancraftaward

The Victorian Craft Awards exhibition, open from June 3 – July 8, will take place across three venues – Craft Victoria (31 Flinders Lane), Collins Place Gallery and Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.

Details on each of the exhibition works are now available on www.craft.org.au/victoriancraftaward  


Olivia Poloni, Curator, Craft Victoria
03 9650 7775 / 0421 852 929 / opoloni@craft.org.au

Craft can arrange high-resolution images, interviews and more.


We are thrilled to announce this year's finalists

Aidan Mackinnon, Alan Constable, Alison Frith, Andrei Davidoff, Anna Davern, Anne Van der Auwera, Anthony Kleine, Aphra Ellen Cheesman, Bin Dixon-Ward, Blanche Tilden, Bryan Cush, Byron Raleigh, Cassie Leatham, Catrine Berlatier, Chris O'Brien, Christopher Plumridge, Claire Best, Claire Lehmann, Claire McArdle, Dan Bowran, Dana Falcini, Dawn Vachon, Donna Blackall, Elise Sheehan, Elnaz Nourizadeh, Ema Shin, Emma Greenwood, Fiona Hiscock, Gabbee Stolp, Glenda Nicholls, Glenys Mann, Hannah Gartside, Holly Grace, Inari Kiuru, Irianna Kanellopoulou, Isabel Avendano Hazbun, Jane Sawyer, Janetta Kerr Grant, Janine Tanzer, Jill Stanbury, Joanne Linsdell, Kari Lee McInneny-Mcrae, Kate Just, Katherine Bowman, Katherine Wheeler, Katie Collins, Kirsten Haydon, Kirsten Perry, Kirsty Macafee, Kris Coad, Laura Eyles, Lauralai Wilson, Lauren Trojkovic, Lindy McSwan, Lisa Waup, Louise Kyriakou, Louise Meuwissen, Lucile Sciallano, Madeleine Thornton-Smith, Mark Edgoose, Mechelle Shooter, Michaela Pegum, Michelle Cangiano, Mika Chiba, Natalie Ryan, Neville French, Annie Gobel, Pennie Jagiello, Peter Waples-Crowe, Pip Haydon, Robyn Phelan, Ryan Foote, Sai-Wai Foo, Samuel Mertens, Sarah Schembri, Sarah Tracton, Sarra Tzijan, Seb Brown, Sharon West, Sim Luttin, Stephen Ziguras, Susan Buchanan, Tae Schmeisser, Tai Snaith, Tallara Gray, Terry Williams, Tessa Blazey, Tessy King, Tracy Muirhead, Vanessa Lucas, Vicki Mason, Wendy Jagger, Yoko Ozawa, Yu Fang Chi, Yuko Fujita and Zhu Ohmu


Craft thanks the State Government of Victoria, who have generously supported the Victorian Craft Awards with the major prize of $10,000 honouring Victorian Arts Minister Lynne Kosky's public service and commitment to the arts. 

Craft Victoria is thrilled to announce the 100 finalists in the Victorian Craft Awards exhibition.

This is the second biennial event facilitated by Craft Victoria in the pursuit of presenting and celebrating excellence in craft and design. The awards exhibition will take place across three venues — Craft Victoria, Collins Place Gallery and Sofitel Melbourne on Collins from 3 June–8 July.

Image credit: Untitled (White Cow Head) by Natalie Ryan, Victorian Craft Awards 2017

The awards welcome emerging, mid-career and established craftspeople from across the state of Victoria. Craft was impressed by the quality of applications of individual works utilising a range of craft skills, processes and materials. 

Selection judges Mardi Nowak (Senior Curator, The Town Hall Gallery, Boroondara), Richard Ferguson (Executive Director, Craft Victoria) and Olivia Poloni (Curator, Craft Victoria) undertook the challenging task of shortlisting the 100 finalists. 

Lousje Skala, Chair, said “Following the success of the first Victorian Craft Awards in 2015, we are thrilled to once again deliver an exhibition that showcases excellence across the craft and design sector. The Victorian Craft Awards offers a unique opportunity to experience the diversity and skill of Victorian craft practitioners, and we’re proud to share this compelling snapshot of contemporary craft with the wider community.”

The Victorian Craft Awards opens on Saturday 3 June, with the Awards Ceremony and Launch from 4–6pm. 


Image credit: High Tea by Sam Mertens