Lynne Kosky Jewellery Award and Jewellery Encouragement Award Judges

JANET MARNELL BROWN is a jeweller, teacher and designer who was an important mentor, tutor and friend of Lynne’s and brings to the inaugural award a personal and professional perspective that is most appropriate and appreciated. Currently Janet is a resident artist at the Gasworks Art Park in Albert Park where she runs an open studio. Since 2004 she has run Studio 1 Two 1 in East St Kilda providing jewellery workshops and mentoring as well as continuing her own practice and commissions. From 2006 to 2009 Janet was the President of the Jewellers and Metalworkers Group of Victoria.

SUSAN COHN has been making work for over 30 years, and has exhibited extensively in Australia and overseas, including a major surveyexhibition – Techno Craft: the work of Susan Cohn 1980-2000 – toured nationally by the National Gallery of Australia. She holds undergraduate and post-graduate degrees in gold and silversmithing from RMIT University, Melbourne; a Doctor of Philosophy in Fine Art Theory from UNSW, Sydney and has been sole director of Workshop 3000 since 1984. Among other accomplishments, she has worked as a designer for the prestigious design company Alessi, curated an international exhibition of contemporary jewellery Unexpected Pleasures: the art and design of contemporary jewellery for the Design Museum London, and edited the accompanying book published by Rizzoli International Publications, New York. Cohn is the current artist trustee for National Gallery of Victoria, and is represented by Anna Schwartz Gallery, Melbourne.

Decal Ceramic Award Judge

STEPHEN BENWELL is a visual artist living in Melbourne, Australia. His body of work, now spanning four decades, comprises ceramics, drawings, works on paper and paintings. He began his career in the mid 1970’s after finishing art school (VCA) in Melbourne.  His work marries studio based investigations of the ceramacist with the painterly and sculptural concerns of the contemporary artist.

Exhibiting regularly since 1975, Benwell has been represented by Niagara Galleries, Melbourne since 2001. In 2013, a career survey of the artist’s work, Stephen Benwell – Beauty, Anarchy, Desire, A Retrospective, was installed at Heide Museum of Modern Art, that same year Benwell was selected to exhibit in Melbourne Now. In 2010 Benwell was the recipient of the Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award through Shepparton Art Museum and was a finalist in both the Hobart Art Prize and the Fletcher Jones Art Prize at Geelong Gallery, Victoria.  In 2009 Benwell was awarded the Inaugural Deakin University Small Sculpture Award and an Australia Council Visual Arts Board New Work Grant.

Excellence Award  Judge

TONY ELLWOOD, Director of the National Gallery of Victoria, has a long and powerful career in Australian galleries and museums. Initially studying Art History, Painting and Museum Studies Ellwood has since held Directorial positions at the Waringarri Aboriginal Arts Cooperative, Bendigo Art Gallery, Queensland Art Gallery and its sister site, the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA). Ellwood returned to the National Gallery of Victoria as Director, quickly cementing his reputation as a progressive and ambitious Director igniting and embracing the city with 2013’s Melbourne Now, the international NGV Triennial and the recent launch of the Contemporary Design and Architecture divisions.


The initial blind shortlisting was undertaken by the following team:
Kirsty Grant, Director, Heide Museum of Modern Art
Jane Scott, CEO/Artistic Director, Craft
Debbie Pryor, Curator, Craft

Specialist judges Janet Marnell Brown and Susan Cohn were invited to shortlist specifically for the Lynne Kosky Jewellery Award and Lynne Kosky Jewellery Encouragement Award.

The process also included a Directors Shortlist whereby a number of artists were shortlisted by Craft’s CEO/Artistic Director Jane Scott across the full range of mediums.

Directors Shortlist includes: Nick Bastin, Vito Bila, Katherine Bowman, Emma Davies, Helen Dilkes, Mark Edgoose, Claire McArdle, Lindy McSwan, Fiona Murphy, Tiffany Parbs (baggage), Sian Pascale and Lisa Waup.

The intention of this process was to give representation to the broadest possible cross section of contemporary craft practice and to ensure that a range of selector perspectives were included in the shortlisting.